cstd mandate

The Centre for Satellite Technology Development (CSTD) is one of the key Research Activity Centre’s of the National Space Research and Development Agency (NASRDA) as provided in the National Space Policy and Programmes, and was established primarily to acquire and build capabilities and competence in the design, development and testing of satellites and associated sub-systems for various missions, including but not limited to,

  • Earth Observation (EO)/Remote Sensing Satellites systems,
  • Communication Satellites (ComSats) systems,
  • Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS),
  • and Synthetic Aperture Radar Satellite (SAR) systems

through effective collaborations with relevant specialized institutions/agencies, public and private organizations as well the academia.


To this end therefore in the development of Nigcom-Sat1, CSTD’s engineers and scientists were the core project members. The Centre has successfully collaborated with Surrey Satellite Technology Limited (SSTL) to design, test, fabricate and launch Nigeria Sat-1. The collaboration later gave birth to the successful fabrication, manufacture and launch of Nigeria Sat-2 and Nigeria Sat-X respectively.
CSTD has invested heavily in capacity building, laboratory facilities and equipment, books, computers and software packages all in a bid to transform the Centre into a Centre of excellence in Satellite Technology. At present, the Centre can boast of over fifteen (15) Ph.D.’s and one hundred (100) Master’s degree holders. In the same vain, twenty seven (27) Engineers and Scientists have also benefited from the Know-How Technology Transfer (KHTT) that gave birth to the success of Nigeria Sat-2 and Nigeria Sat-X.


The Centre has recently collaborated with educational institutions in her efforts to attain continental leadership in Satellite Technology through the development of capabilities in Satellite subsystems as a tool for National growth, integration and huge contribution to the development of space technology for the benefit of mankind. These institutions include; University of Maiduguri, Landmark University-Kwara state, University of Abuja, and Federal University of Technology Minna, others include, Baze University-Abuja, University of Agriculture Makurdi and Kogi State Polytechnic Lokoja.
The Centre’s collaboration with Kogi State Polytechnic will in no distant time lead to the introduction of Aerospace Engineering into the curriculum of the institution. Similarly; Aerospace Engineering curriculum which has been developed with the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Maiduguri is before the University Senate for approval. In the same vain, some of the staff of the Centre were on sabbatical to University of Maiduguri, Landmark University, University of Abuja and Baze University respectively.

Other collaborations include that which was done with Defense Industrial Corporation (DICON) Kaduna. This CSTD –DICON collaboration is centered on the domestication and production of satellite thrusters, antenna’s etc. The Centre has interacted with engineering staff of some of the universities visited and circulated lists containing core areas of research and development that can lead to the design and production of payload.